Tchaikovsky: Beauty Out of Anguish

February 26, 7:30pm

Presentation Hall, Mayo Civic Center

We begin with Florence Price, the first African American woman whose work was performed by a national symphony orchestra. Her model was Dvorák, while the heart of her Symphony No. 1 lies in her cultural roots.


Pianist and psychiatrist Dr. Richard Kogan reveals elements of Tchaikovsky’s anguished soul as he created some of the most beautiful music of all time. Dr. Kogan weaves notable excerpts of Tchaikovsky’s work with stories and background relating to the composer's health, followed by a complete performance of the breathtaking Piano Concerto No. 1.

October 16, 4:00pm & 7:30pm

October 17, 2:00pm

Rochester Art Center

Mozart  Eine Kleine Nachtmusik
Respighi  Ancient Airs and Dances, Suite 3
Holst  St. Paul’s Suite

dr Kogan detail_edited_edited.jpg

*CONTENT NOTICE: This program contains topics that may be sensitive in nature to younger audience members.

Price  Symphony No. 1 in E Minor
Tchaikovsky Piano Concerto No. 1,

                    featuring Dr. Richard Kogan, piano